Favorite quotes

Everyone has some favorite quotes that pithily or humorously sum up truths about life. Here are some of mine:

“In my younger and more vulnerable years my father gave me some advice that I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since. ‘Whenever you feel like criticizing any one,’ he told me, ‘just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages that you’ve had.'”

“Reserving judgements is a matter of infinite hope.”

F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

“I came to the conclusion long ago that all life is six to five against.”

Damon Runyon, A Nice Price

“Ask your child what he wants for dinner only if he’s buying.”

“I’ve done the calculation and your chances of winning the lottery are identical whether you play or or not.”

“The opposite of talking isn’t listening. The opposite of talking is waiting.”

Fran Lebowitz

“A successful marriage requires falling in love many times, always with the same person.”

Mignon McLaughlin

“Scratch a lover, and find a foe.“

Dorothy Parker

Leave a Reply

