Library e-books

My recent semi-retirement and purchase of a smart phone have again given me time and the means to read for pleasure. I tried downloading a few of the free titles on Amazon’s Kindle and Google’s Books sites, and enjoyed reading them (I set the phone for white type on a black background, which conserves battery life and makes for easy, eyestrain-free viewing). I was surprised at how comfortable I was reading books on my phone (you also can use a laptop or e-book reader if you have one).

Looking for new material, I happened upon the Upper Hudson Libraries digital collection site, which I highly recommend. After downloading the Overdrive app, you’re good to go with e-books and audio books, great for those long drives. The selection is a little bit limited, but I’m sure it will be growing. I believe the site is open to all residing in Albany and Rensselaer Counties. Kudos to Upper Hudson for providing this great service!

Leave a Reply

