Shrinking packaging

Here’s the text of an e-mail I just sent to the Unilever Corporation:

I recently bought a jar of your Hellman’s Mayonnaise product, and noticed that the contents had been reduced to 30 oz from 32.  If you needed to increase your price, I wish you would have been honest and just done so, rather than insult me by trying the oldest trick in the book.  Now I’m going to have to watch the label to see if you start switching to inferior ingredients.  When I tried to send this message through the Hellmans web site, it would not let me unless I disclosed my date of birth, which I believe would subject me to exposure to identity theft.  I know you want that info for marketing purposes, but you should not require it if someone doesn’t want to give it.

If I receive a response, I’ll share it with you.

Leave a Reply

